Landmark Productions in association with Irish National Opera, Ireland

The First Child - On Demand

A new opera by Donnacha Dennehy and Enda Walsh

It all began with the child.

Following the sensational success of their first two operas, The Last Hotel and The Second Violinist, Donnacha Dennehy and Enda Walsh join forces once again on the final instalment in their explosive trilogy of suburban horror.

The production brings together a world-class creative team with a cast of five singers, an actor, a dancer, a small children’s choir and Crash Ensemble, to imagine a terrifying story of lost innocence—a baby on a beach—and the sea.


For ages 16+. Contains loud noises, strobe lighting, abuse, violence,
self-harm, death.

This production is funded by an Opera Projects and Production
Award from The Arts Council.

Kindly supported by The Irish Times.

Tickets are sold using pod seating of predetermined sizes.

Composed by Donnacha Dennehy

Libretto & Directed by Enda Walsh

Conducted by Ryan McAdams

Choreography: Emma Martin

Set Design: Jamie Vartan

Lighting Design: Adam Silverman

Video Design: Jack Phelan

Costume Design: Joan O’Clery

Sound Design: David Sheppard

Cast:

Caia Leseure

Eric Jurenas

Emmett O’Hanlon

Niamh O’Sullivan

Dean Power

Joan Sheehy

Sarah Shine

Ensemble Crash Ensemble

Image Credit: Jack Phelan

"Exhilarating blend of opera, theatre and film … extraordinary … thrilling" The Second Violinist The Guardian
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Access to this performance will begin on your selected show date and you will have 7 days from this date to view the recording.

This performance is 75 minutes long, please ensure you start watching it with enough time to watch in full before your link becomes invalid.

You will need to have your email address and Dublin Theatre Festival password to access the viewing link. If you haven't created a password, or need to reset it, please visit our website, click on ‘My Account’ and follow the directions.

You will be sent a preshow email in advance of your selected date, it will contain your viewing link and everything you need to know to log in and ensure you have the best viewing experience.

Venue

O'Reilly Theatre, Belvedere College

Date(s)

On demand 10-23 Oct

Tickets

€25–€40

Duration

75 mins., no interval.

With the support of
 
Book Tickets
Sun 10 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Mon 11 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Tue 12 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Wed 13 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Thu 14 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Fri 15 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Sat 16 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Sun 17 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Mon 18 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Tue 19 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Wed 20 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Thu 21 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Fri 22 Oct, 12.00am Book Now
Sat 23 Oct, 12.00am Book Now