An Abbey Theatre production, Ireland

A Whistle in the Dark

by Tom Murphy

Settled in Coventry with his new wife Betty, Michael Carney is attempting to lead a new life. But leaving Ireland couldn’t set him free, and once the Carneys descend there’s no way out.

One of Ireland’s greatest playwrights, Tom Murphy’s A Whistle in the Dark is a powerful portrayal of tribal violence and the devastation it brings in its wake. It remains Murphy’s best known and most performed play to this day. Directed by Jason Byrne, with Seán Mc Ginley in the role of Dada, this fiercely intense production of Tom Murphy’s early masterpiece will be experienced up close in the intimate Peacock theatre, giving the audience a front row seat in the Carneys' living room.


Funded by the Arts Council | An Chomhairle Ealaíon.

Directed by Jason Byrne

Set Design: Cordelia Chisholm

Costume Design: Saileóg O'Halloran

Lighting Design: Dara Hoban

Sound Design and Composition: George Brennan

Fight Director: Ciaran O'Grady

Cast: Peter Claffey, Peter Coonan, Timmy Creed, James Doherty O'Brien, Brian Gleeson, Ruairí Heading, Seán Mc Ginley, Sarah Morris

Venue

Abbey Theatre, on the Peacock stage

Preview(s)

4 - 6 Oct

Date(s)

4-7 Oct. 7pm
7 Oct. 7pm
8 Oct. 1.30pm & 7pm
10-14 Oct. 7pm
15 Oct. 1.30pm & 7pm

Tickets

€16 - €30

Duration

2hrs., 45 mins., incl.interval.

With the support of
 
Book Tickets
Tue 4 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Wed 5 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Thu 6 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Fri 7 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Sat 8 Oct, 1.30pm Unavailable
Sat 8 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Mon 10 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Tue 11 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Wed 12 Oct, 7.00pm Book Now
Thu 13 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Fri 14 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable
Sat 15 Oct, 1.30pm Unavailable
Sat 15 Oct, 7.00pm Unavailable